The Lasting Euphoria from the 2012 Eurovision in Baku


The 57th edition of Eurovision Song Contest might have ended months ago, but I can still feel the heat from Baku, Azerbaijan, where it was hosted. Congratulations to Loreen for giving Sweden its fifth victory on the contest. Euphoria deserved to win, I’d say, but wasn’t really my overall favorite. Even though her other hits, My Heart Is Refusing Me and Sober, awe me more. But Europe has voted and it has been decided that next year’s contest will be held by this year’s winner: Sweden!

Swedish singer, Loreen, holding the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest trophy

(Image Source: National Turk)

As the contest has concluded for this year, I’ve arranged a complete list of all the 42 entries based on my personal preferences. There might not be a lot of Eurovision-enthusiast in Asia—let alone in Indonesia—but I certainly hope that one day I could see the contest live on the television or even better, live at the hosting country!

First I’ve got to let you know that my musical taste might not appear to be so typical. I don’t limit my music library to any certain genres, artists, language, or other non-qualitative factors.  So here the list goes…

*My Ranking. Artist – Song Title (Country) | Contest Result: #Actual Ranking – Comment (If there’s any)*

  1. Nina Badrić – Nebo (Croatia) | Contest Result: #29 – Magnificent singer, magical song, artistic composing, and striking performance. I really don’t get how this song didn’t even make it to the final. There must be something reeeally wrong with the voters and the juries.
  2. Eva Boto – Verjamem (Slovenia) | Contest Result: #37
  3. Pernilla Karlsson – När Jag Blundar (Finland) | Contest Result: #30 – Most people might struggle to see how this is a better song than the other entries, but it does sound the most appealing for my ears. Karlsson’s rendition is magical and sensible. Even though I understand none of the lyrics, I can honestly feel this sadness that makes me close my eyes just like the song tells me to.
  4. Pastora Soler – Quédate Conmigo (Spain) | Contest Result: #10 – She absolutely deserves more points or even to win the whole thing.
  5. Soluna Samay – Should’ve Known Better (Denmark) | Contest Result: #22 – There’s something about Samay’s voice that casts this spell to make me keep replaying the song over and over and over again. I love the simplicity of the lyrics. It tells a story that I think a lot of people could actually relate to.
  6. Loreen – Euphoria (Sweden) | Contest Result: #1 – The song just doesn’t appeal me that much to be the winner this year.  But I am happy for Loreen. I swear I am. Mostly because had it not won the contest, those adorable-but-not-much-of-a-singer grannies group would’ve been the end of my Eurovision journey.
  7. Nina Zilli – L’Amore è Femmina (Out of Love) (Italy) | Contest Result: #9 – Should I even begin how she reminds me of the late Amy Winehouse? Winehouse is replaceable (in a present tense), but Zilli is a good escape.
  8. Izabo – Time (Israel) | Contest Result: #35 – An indie rock in the contest is already a bold move. The band (minus the violin or whatever that string is) sounds a lot like Arctic Monkeys, which is just my most favorite indie rock band of all time.
  9. Mandinga – Zaleilah (Romania) | Contest Result: #13 – What can I say? The singer is sexy, the song is sexy, and it really makes me want to spend some summer in Bucharest.
  10. Engelbert Humperdinck – Love Will Set You Free (United Kingdom) | Contest Result: #25 – The British is really desperate to win the Eurovision. After sending the high-profile boyband, Blue, to Dusseldorf last year, now they’re sending one of the most influential guy in ballads: Sir Humperdinck. But he still came second to last, mainly because he had to perform first and let’s be honest; how many times have the voters & juries been kind to the British let alone a folk song? Only thing I wonder now is who they’ll be sending off next year to Malmo.
  11. Kaliopi – Crno i Belo (Macedonia) | Contest Result: #12
  12. Željko Joksimović – Nije Ljubav Stvar (Serbia) | Contest Result: #3 – Serbia hasn’t lost its touch. Great ballad, great singer, great music, great performance, just not enough power to force the voters & juries to root for it.
  13. Maya Sar – Korake Ti Znam (Bosnia and Herzegovina) | Contest Result: #18 – The only thing that the song needs to be more appealing is… a climax.
  14. Rona Nishliu – Suus (Albania) | Contest Result: #5 – Great ballad, but her overdone vocal gymnastics left the song a little less impressive for me.
  15. Joan Franka – You and Me (The Netherlands) | Contest Result: #34
  16. Filipa Sousa – Vida Minha (Portugal) | Contest Result: #31
  17. Gaitana – Be My Guest (Ukraine) | Contest Result: #16 – The song is a very fun number to dance to, but the lyrics are too usual to win.
  18. Ελευθερία Ελευθερίου – Aphrodisiac (Greece) | Contest Result: #17
  19. Ήβη Αδάμου – La La Love (Cyprus) | Contest Result: #15
  20. Sinplus – Unbreakable (Switzerland) | Contest Result: #28 – Definitely one of the most underrated entry this year.
  21. Compact Disco – Sound of Our Hearts (Hungary) | Contest Result: #24
  22. Roman Lob – Standing Still (Germany) | Contest Result: #8 – I guess most people would find it too “Hollywood”-esque to be on Eurovision. And I’m not arguing.
  23. Anggun – Echo (You and I) (France) | Contest Result: #23 – As an Indonesian, I’m obviously proud as hell that Anggun got to represent France on such a high-profile contest; but the song just doesn’t make it for me. Anggun is best at slow-tempo numbers with mysterious musical touch (who doesn’t love her Snow on the Sahara or Deep Blue Sea or Garde Moi or any of her other hits that charted worldwide). I hope she gets another chance to prove that she can give France its long-awaited victory. With a ballad, I’d prefer.
  24. Ott Lepland – Kuula (Estonia) | Contest Result: #6
  25. Max Jason Mai – Don’t Close Our Eyes (Slovakia) | Contest Result: #38
  26. Buranovskiye Babushki – Party for Everybody (Russia) | Contest Result: #2 – Had this song won the contest, I swore I would no longer watch Eurovision. It’s outrageously ridiculous already for them to even finished as the second best. The only thing that is great from Russia this year is that they’re sending a group of granny that would likely get everyone paying the sympathy card, but not for singing. On one note, the grannies are adorable.
  27. Tooji – Stay (Norway) | Contest Result: #26 – The song only gets better after several times played. But it does sound more like an attempt to repeat Eric Saade’s 2011 Popular. Doesn’t really work that much for me.
  28. Anmary – Beautiful Song (Latvia) | Contest Result: #40
  29. Jedward – Waterline (Ireland) |  Contest Result: #20 – I like the song even though the brothers are still weirdly weird for me.
  30. Səbinə Babayeva – When the Music Dies (Azerbaijan) | Contest Result: #4
  31. Valentina Monetta – The Social Network Song (Oh Ohuhoh Oh) (San Marino) | Contest Result: #36
  32. Gréta Salóme & Jónsi – Never Forget (Iceland) | Contest Result: #19
  33. Can Bonomo – Love Me Back (Turkey) | Contest Result: #7 – I don’t get how or why this song managed to finish on the top 10. Bonomo’s voice is terribly inconvenient. Political votes suck!
  34. Pasha Parfeny – Lautar (Moldova) | Contest Result: #11
  35. Софи Маринова – Love Unlimited (Bulgaria) | Contest Result: #27
  36. Litesound – We Are the Heroes (Belarus) | Contest Result: #33 – The song is actually enjoyable, but too generic to be in Eurovision.
  37. Kurt Calleja – This Is the Night (Malta) | Contest Result: #21
  38. Trackshittaz – Woki Mit Deim Popo (Austria) | Contest Result: #42 – Took me more than 20 times to finally be able to at least enjoy the song.
  39. Donny Montell – Love Is Blind (Lithuania) | Contest Result: #14 – His stage performance was one of the worst I’ve seen in the contest. And please, Montell, go get some English course.
  40. Iris – Would You? (Belgium) | Contest Result: #41
  41. Anri Jokhadze – I’m a Joker (Georgia) | Contest Result: #32 – Simply disturbing, weird, and definitely unappealing. The opening is interesting, but right when the “I’m a joker, I’m a rocker” line got out, I probably spaced out for those few minutes. The song is totally all over the place. The transitions from slow-tempo to mid-tempo to up-tempo are just bad, if not worst.
  42. Rambo Amadeus – Euro Neuro (Montenegro) | Contest Result: #39 – Definitely one of the worst songs ever to make it into the show. Not open for disagreement.

Leave a Reply

